Healthy Confidence: Put Me In, Coach

images

Imagine Dez Bryant, one of the NFL’s most explosive players, standing on the sideline. The Cowboys are on offense, and a less talented receiver is in Dez’s spot. Dez faces the field and watches his teammate struggle to lead the cowboys closer to the end zone, cringing each time a routine pass is missed. His eyes are wide open, unable to look away from the horror on the gridiron. Anyone near Dez can read his mind. There’s only one thing he could possibly be thinking in this moment:

“Put me in coach! I know I can play better than him! Just let me play, and I’ll prove to you why I shouldn’t be standing on the sideline.”

How many times have you been in Dez’s shoes? Of course, I’m not literally talking about standing on an NFL sideline. Rather, I’m talking about the times when you’ve had to watch someone do a job you know you could do better. As you watch, doesn’t it pain you to see this person drop the ball over and over again? If only your talent and abilites were as obvious to others as they are to you. If only your coach, boss, supervisor, or teacher recognized your true potential. I’ve been subject to this dilemma a number of times, but I’ve learned to appreciate the growth I’ve experienced from the dissapointment.

For instance, I’ve been a band director for the past seven years. At my last gig, I worked with directors who were less qualified than me…or so I felt. Some of these directors had poor, ineffective teaching methods–a source of chronic headaches to say the least. I’ve also interviewed for several youth ministry positions, but I’ve been turned down by every one of them, generally because the hired applicant was a church staffer’s close friend or relative.

As I observe these head band directors and youth ministers, I can’t help but wonder how these individuals were hired to fill leadership roles.  I know I am better suited for the positions than them, and this attitude spurs me to work harder, to study diligently, to practice more, and to excel in all things related to music education and youth ministry. My attitude, I argue, is not an assertion of arrogance, but an expression of healthy confidence. If you asked Dez Bryant what motivational factors influence his game, I’m sure he would list many things such as his competitive nature, his childhood role models, his love of the game, and his need to prove people who doubt his abilities wrong. These are all valid motivational factors, but I contend that one more item needs to be added to the list: healthy self-confidence.

Is Dez Bryant the most talented wide receiver in the NFL? Perhaps not, but he knows in his mind that he’s better than many of his competitors. This mentatility is largely responsible for his success in the NFL. If he didn’t already consider himself one of the NFL’s greatest athletes, then where would he find the motivation to excel at his sport? Likewise, if I didn’t consider myself to be a more qualified band director and youth minister than most candidates, then what’s the point in bettering myself in those areas?

Don’t think for a second that I’m condoning arrogance. I would never do such a thing. I am, however, acknowledging the motivational power behind a person’s self-image. It’s okay to know you’re better at something than someone else. Go ahead and think that all you want. After all, a healthy self-confidence is essential in order for you to excel at anything.

What do you think? Is a healthy self-confidence necessary to achieve success?

When have you experienced success as a result of your self-image?

— In Christ, Marshall Hoybook

Leave a comment